C hampagne Augustine has been created by two brothers, Frederic and Philippe HAZARD, who are children and grandchildren of several generations of farmers, breeders and cereal growers.
Since 1760, the family farm, which is now the winery, used to be once a breeding farm and, according to history, a refuge of the famous French Fabulist “JEAN DE LA FONTAINE”, where he wrote one of his Fable in 17th century :
“Le Coche et La Mouche”.
SCROLL_ORANGE

In 1973, the parents initiated the plantation of the first Vine stock on Farmlands which have gone into Champagne’s Appellation.

In 1990, the financial crisis has stopped the expansion of the exploitation, and that during 10 years. This is the reason why, Philippe and Frédéric have carried on the labour in taking care of the vineyards work, in producing and selling their first bottles of Champagne only in 2008.

In 2004, concerned to produce champagne of exception, they invested into a wine-pressing centre with a capacity of 4000 kg, in order to control traceability of grapes and to assure the highest quality.

After 5 years of hard work, being present on several wines fair through France and Belgium, they had to create another brand in order to respond to a large demand, they decided to name it “Champagne Augustine” as their both children’s names.

SITUATION

Our vineyard is situated in the heart of the Champagne area, in a small village called “Châtillon-sur-Marne”, well-known for his historical monument, such as the statue of pope Urbain II, Prieuré de Binson which is an old monastery, the Church Notre-Dame and a military cemetery (14/18).

Our estate covers 7.10 Hectares of vines in the “Vallée de la Marne”, formed several plots principally located for 90% in Chatillon sur Marne, but also in Beval-sous-Chatillon, Vandières, Courtiezy and La Chapelle-Monthodon

From Pruning to Veraison, Philippe and Frédéric are giving all their heart and their skills in care-controlled culture of their vineyards during  all the year.

CHAMPAGNE METHOD

Once traditional harvested, the wines grapes are separated and each variety is immediately pressed into our press house of 4000 kg capacity, and transformed in a stainless juice exclusively produced from the cuvée.
The alcoholic fermentation takes place in a temperature-controlled steel Vat and then all wines are going through a malolactic fermentation from 48H to 20 days.

Then it’s the period of decantation, the wine is airing and all impurity is going down to the bottom of the Vat.
After blending and bottling, the second fermentation takes place, we call it “Prise de Mousse”, then the yeast (composed with clay mineral) is added to make the effervescence in the wine.

Once all this method done, it’s time for maturation during minimum 3 years in our cool atmosphere cellars
All bottles are given a traditional handed Remuage, for finally to proceed to disgorging and dosage and the wines are resting 3 more months before being commercialized.

L e Champagne Augustine a été créé par deux frères, Philippe et Frédéric HAZARD, qui sont les enfants et petits-enfants de plusieurs générations de fermiers, céréaliers et éleveurs.
Depuis 1760, la ferme familiale, qui est aujourd’hui l’exploitation viticole, était une ferme d’élevage et selon l’histoire du village, c’était également le refuge du célèbre fabuliste Français « Jean de la Fontaine », où il aurait écrit au 17ème siècles une de ses fables :
« Le Coche et La Mouche ».
SCROLL_ORANGE

En 1973, les parents, de Philippe et Frédéric, ont commencé la plantation des premiers pieds de vignes sur les terres agricoles passées en appellation Champagne.

En 1990, la crise financière a fortement ralenti la progression de l’exploitation et ce durant 10 ans. C’est pourquoi, il n’y a guère que depuis 2008 que les frères débutèrent la commercialisation de leurs premières bouteilles de champagne, qu’ils nommèrent « Champagne PAUL HAZARD » en hommage à leur grand-père, décédé en 1992.

En 2004, soucieux de produire des Champagnes d’exceptions, ils investissent dans un pressoir agréé qualitatif d’une capacité de 4000 kg, afin de maîtriser la traçabilité des raisins et d’assurer une qualité optimale.

Après 5 années de travail acharné, à décupler les salons de Vins à travers toute la France et la Belgique, ils créèrent la marque Champagne Augustine, qui n’est autre que la contraction des prénoms de leurs enfants respectifs, pour se développer à l’export.

Situation :

Nos vignobles sont situés en plein cœur de la Champagne sur le coteau exposé Sud de la Vallée de Marne, dans le village de Châtillon-sur-Marne, connu pour ses monuments historiques comme la Statue du Pape Urbain II, le Prieuré de Binson, ancien monastère, l’église Notre-Dame, classée et le cimetière militaire datant de 14/18.

Le domaine s’étend aujourd’hui sur 7.10 Hectares, divisé en plusieurs parcelles dont 90% basé sur la commune de Chatillon-sur-Marne, et le reste des terres sur les communes de Belval-sous-Châtillon, La Chapelle-Monthodon, Courtiezy et Vandières.

Méthode Champenoise :

Une fois récoltés délicatement à la main, les cépages sont séparés et rapidement pressés, pour éviter toute coloration, dans notre pressoir d’une capacité de 4000 kg. Nous prélevons le jus le plus fin pour élaborer des vins que l’on nommera « Cuvée ».

La fermentation alcoolique se fait dans des cuves thermo-régulée et les cépages sont vinifiés séparément pour laisser place à la fermentation malolactique qui peut durer de 48 à 72 heures le temps  de la période de décantation.

Après Assemblage et tirage, la deuxième fermentation prend place, nous l’appelons « la prise de Mousse », puis on ajoute une levure, à base d’argile provenant d’Avize, afin de rendre le vin effervescent.

Vient le temps de la maturation, nous laissons nos vins dormir pendant 3 ans dans la fraîcheur de nos caves, afin d’obtenir une conservation naturelle et un champagne d’une qualité optimale.

Toutes nos bouteilles sont remuées de manière traditionnelle, avant le dégorgement et le dosage, puis nos vins se reposent 3 mois de plus avant d’être commercialisés.